CBD In Oregon

2020 Complete Guide

Is CBD in Oregon Legal?
OR CBD 2020

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Is hemp CBD oil legal in Oregon in 2020? What about growing hemp? And can anyone sell CBD products in Oregon? In this post, we’ll not only take a look at Oregon’s hemp and CBD laws, but we’ll also discuss some of the many products that are available and some of the medical conditions being treated with hemp CBD oil in Oregon. Let’s get right into it.

Oregon Hemp and CBD Laws 2020

At the start of 2019, anyone interested in hemp and CBD laws was enjoying a field day, so to speak. That’s because at the end of 2018, the US federal government finally divorced hemp from the definition of marijuana. And the DEA subsequently dropped CBD from its list of Schedule I controlled substances — a category reserved for drugs that are thought to have no medicinal use and highly addictive such as heroin and cocaine.

Both marijuana and CBD-rich hemp are used in medicine. And both are now legal to a certain extent in Oregon. However, each falls under completely different sets of laws. 

Both hemp and marijuana are cultivars of cannabis. The difference between marijuana and hemp lies in the levels of an intoxicating compound known as THC.  The resinous flowers produced by marijuana growers can have levels of THC as high as 25 percent or more. However, in order to be legal, THC levels in hemp must fall below 0.3 percent — not enough to get a fly high, as they say.

Although the Oregon Department of Agriculture published a set of hemp regulations in May of 2019, until the USDA’s hemp regulations are finalized, Oregon’s hemp laws will also be in a state of limbo. The USDA is expected to finalize its rules in the early part of 2020. Once that happens, the Oregon Department of Agriculture will determine what changes if any, need to be made to the state’s current hemp program and submit a state plan as required by the USDA.

While hemp regulations are the jurisdiction of the USDA, CBD regulations fall under the auspices of the US Food and Drug Administration. As with the USDA, the FDA has yet to finalize its CBD regulations. The agency did, however, pronounce that the use of CBD as an additive in food and beverages as well as animal feeds is prohibited. But that’s not yet set in stone. New legislation being proposed in Washington DC would overrule the FDA and permit the addition of CBD to food. It would also allow CBD companies to market CBD oil and other CBD products as nutritional supplements.

That’s the overview of hemp and CBD laws in the US and in Oregon. Now let’s get into a little more detail and go over some of the most frequently asked questions related specifically to Oregon hemp and CBD laws.

Oregon Hemp and CBD laws FAQ | 2020

Is hemp CBD oil legal in Oregon?

As we mentioned above, there are two types of cannabis — marijuana and hemp. Medicinal oils from both plants are available in Oregon. Products made from marijuana can only be sold legally at state-licensed marijuana dispensaries and only to folks age 21 or older. Products made from hemp-derived CBD oil, on the other hand, can be purchased by anyone in Oregon. 

However, that doesn’t mean a guaranteed hassle-free experience. You see, CBD-rich hemp flower and marijuana look and smell identical. The only way to tell them apart is via lab testing to determine the exact levels of THC in the product. As you can imagine this can cause a lot of confusion on the part of law enforcement officials. 

Until the confusion subsides, it’s a good idea not to venture out in public with smokable hemp. 

Can doctors in Oregon prescribe hemp CBD oil?

Epidiolex is the only CBD-based drug that may be prescribed by doctors in Oregon. The drug was approved by the FDA in 2018 for the treatment of certain types of childhood epilepsy. 

Aside from Epidiolex, doctors are not permitted to prescribe any other CBD products to their patients. They can, however, recommend CBD products if they feel that the patient’s condition can benefit. However, products other than Epidiolex are not covered by health insurance at this time.

Oregon also has a medical marijuana program. Although all adults over the age of 21 can purchase marijuana in Oregon, patients of any age can have access to medical marijuana with a recommendation from a physician if they are diagnosed with one the qualifying medical conditions. 

Doctors may recommend the use of medical marijuana for the following medical conditions.

What medical conditions are being treated with hemp CBD oil in Oregon?

In Oregon and elsewhere, CBD is being used to treat a wide array of medical conditions. The most common ailments to be treated with CBD include anxiety, depression, sleep disorders, nausea, and acute and chronic pain. However, there are scores conditions, some of them quite serious, that are being treated with CBD.

These are just some of the many medical conditions being treated with CBD:

Can I legally purchase hemp CBD online in Oregon?

Yes. Anyone in Oregon can purchase hemp CBD products online and have them shipped right to their doorstep. 

A major advantage of shopping online for CBD products is that you’ll find a vast selection of products. However, as with mom-and-pop shops, not all the products being sold online are of high quality. Be sure to do your homework and find a brand that is trusted. 

What hemp CBD products are available in Oregon?

There are no restrictions on hemp CBD products in Oregon as there are in some other states. While some states prohibit the sale of dried hemp flower and other smokable CBD products as well as vape products and edibles, all of these are legal in Oregon.

Here are some of the wide variety of hemp CBD products available in Oregon:

Where can I legally purchase hemp CBD in Oregon?

Hemp CBD shops have become ubiquitous in Oregon. Many of the prominent CBD specialty shops are located in the major cities in Oregon such as Portland, Salem, Eugene, Gresham, Hillsboro, Bend, and Beaverton.

Aside from CBD specialty shops, you can also find CBD products at some convenience stores, smoke shops, spas, and so on. However, buyer beware. Not all of these shops carry high-quality CBD products.

Some of the major drug and grocery chains such as Walmart, CVS, Walgreens, RiteAid, and Kroger are also now carrying CBD products.

Can I grow hemp legally in Oregon?

Actually, anyone over the age of 21 can grow their own hemp at home under the state’s recreational marijuana laws, as well as anyone in the state’s medical marijuana program. The law says residents can grow up to four cannabis plants at home. It doesn’t say that they have to contain THC. 

However, if you’re planning on growing more than that, you’ll need a hemp grower’s license from the Oregon Department of Agriculture. 

Being situated on the 45th parallel, Oregon’s climate is well suited to the outdoor cultivation of hemp. In 2018, Oregon farmers planted about 7,000 acres of hemp. That number skyrocketed to about 50,000 acres in 2019 making Oregon number one in US hemp production.

Although hemp advocates were enthralled when the federal government legalized hemp at the end of 2018, the US Department of Agriculture’s proposed regulations, which were released near the end of 2019, have many stakeholders in the industry worried that federal regulations will be too strict and that farmers will shy away from hemp as a result.

Experts estimate that under the DOA’s proposed rules, as much as 20 percent of hemp crops would fail to meet standards. And farmers whose crops test too high in THC will be required to destroy the entire crop. Furthermore, if crops test above 0.5  percent, growers will be considered in “negligent violation.” Repeated violations can result in license suspension.

And, be forewarned, hemp cultivation can be tricky. Changes in the amount of sunlight, water, nutrients, and soil conditions can alter the ratio of THC to CBD that is produced in the plants. 

The grower registration application fee is $250, plus there is a $500 fee for each grow site under the application. You’ll find links at the end of this article with information on Oregon’s hemp program.

Can I sell hemp CBD legally in Oregon?

Anyone can sell CBD in Oregon without a license. However, like agricultural products, hemp and CBD are subject to the same laws as any other crop. 

Also, keep in mind that there is still a lot of confusion due to the fact that marijuana and hemp are essentially identical. In early 2020, a UPS worker reported to authorities that four packages on their way to a CBD store in Oregon smelled like marijuana. A monthlong investigation ensued starting with the seizure of most of the business’s assets. 

That being said, unless you’re just selling CBD products at flea markets, if you run a retail store it’s advisable that you bone up on Oregon CBD laws and follow every letter in order to avoid being raided.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email