Recreational marijuana use becomes legal in Oregon – Q13 FOX
Recreational marijuana use becomes legal in Oregon
PORTLAND (KPTV) — Nine months after Oregon voters passed Measure 91, recreational marijuana use became legal in the state Wednesday.
KPTV reported that Oregon congressman Earl Blumenaur held a news conference with backers of the law and members of the ACLU on Tuesday. They say more remains to be done to make the law go smoothly.
On Tuesday, the Oregon state Senate passed a bill allowing medical marijuana dispensaries to start selling pot to any adult starting October 1. But backers of Measure 91 also want lawmakers to reduce marijuana-related criminal penalties.
Some of the new rules are clear. Adults are allowed to have eight ounces of pot in their homes, one ounce on themselves and can grow up to four plants.
But Blumenaur says fair taxation, banking and other gray areas still need work.
“This is a whole new industry that is being done in less than a year,” he said. “Trying to deal with all these items, getting the regulations in place, to training to law enforcement issues. I’m very interested in focusing on making sure we keep this out of the hands of kids.”
Blumenaur was cautiously optimistic about the state’s efforts.
“We need to be flexible and be prepared because there will be things we don’t know about. But we’re off to a great start,” he said.
In celebration of this historic day in Oregon Wednesday, the Stoney Girl Garden in Clackamas will be giving away free marijuana seeds to adults with proper ID.
There are plenty of questions regarding the measure and what it means for Oregonians. Below are some of the most frequently asked questions answered by the Oregon control board.
Q: When does Measure 91 go into effect?
A: Starting on July 1, 2015, a person can possess up to 8 ounces of marijuana in their home and grow up to four plants per residence.
Q: How much can I carry in public?
A: Up to 1 ounce.
Q: Can I consume it in public?
Q: How about bars or restaurants?
Q: When will marijuana be sold?
A: The OLCC must begin accepting license applications for retail stores no later than Jan. 4, 2016.
Q: How old do you have to be to buy recreational marijuana?
A: 21 years old.
Q: How much will it cost?
A: The OLCC says the retail price will be determined through a “competitive marketplace.”
Q: Are there other limits to growing at home?
A: All plants and products must be kept out of public view.
Q: Who is in charge?
A: The OLCC will implement the terms of the initiative and has the authority to tax, license and regulate recreational marijuana.
Q: Does Measure 91 change Oregon’s medical marijuana program?
Q: If marijuana is legal in Oregon and Washington, can I carry it from one state to the other?
A: No, you cannot take marijuana across state lines.
Q: Can I get a DUII while under the influence of marijuana?
Q: Where will the tax money go?
A: The OLCC says the distribution of revenue after costs will go to the following: 40 percent to common school fund, 20 percent to mental health alcoholism and drug services, 15 percent to state police, 10 percent to cities for enforcement of the measure, 10 percent to counties for enforcement and 5 percent to Oregon Health Authority for alcohol and drug abuse prevention.
Q: What if my city or county wants to go “dry?”
A: According to the OLCC, Measure 91 states that local governments may not prohibit licenses in their jurisdiction except via general election. However, Measure 91 allows local governments to adopt time, place and manner restrictions to regulate public nuisance.
Q: Is there a limit to how many retail outlets will be allowed to open?
A: The measure does not specifically address the number of retail outlets allowed, the OLCC states. Specifics for licensing retail outlets will be determined by the commission after the completion of a public rulemaking process.
For more questions and answers, go to www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana.